Brook Street
Hay-on-Wye, Hereford HR3 5AA
Tel. 01497 822010
More Interesting Secondhand Stock

Adults from £10.00
Under 15s £6.00
(where applicable)

Add tickets to your basket and pay by card.  Please bring your emailed receipt (on paper or smartphone) and exchange for tickets at the door.

Telephone: 01497 822010
12pm to 6pm

Cinema Tickets are

“Holding hands at the movie show, when all the lights are low, may not be new, but I like it, how about you?”

Hay Chamber Music Festival: Fitzwilliam String Quartet with Susie Mészáros

Fourth Hay Chamber Music Festival

Saturday 28th April 2018, 7.30pm
Hay Chamber Music Festival: Fitzwilliam String Quartet with Susie Mészáros
Purcell:  Chaconne in G minor, Z730
A chaconne is a type of musical composition popular in the baroque era when it was much used as a vehicle for variation on a repeated short harmonic progression.  Purcell, whose father and uncle were both court musicians, probably wrote this piece in the post that he had obtained in 1677 as composer for the court violin band. Benjamin Britten’s arrangement of the chaconne will be played in Sunday’s concert.
Glazunov:  ‘Alla Spagnuola’
Alexander Glazunov, born in St. Petersburg in 1865 the son of a wealthy book publisher, wrote Five ‘Novelettes’ during the mid 1880s the first of which is Alla Spagnuola (in the Spanish style).  Surprisingly, this work, long popular at chamber music concerts in Russia, has enjoyed little airing in the West. 
Britten:  String Quartet No. 3 in G major, Op.94
Britten’s String Quartet No. 3 was his last completed major work.  It was written during his final illness, the first four movements at his home in Aldeburgh, and the fifth during his last visit to Venice.  "This is, after all, a work that gestures again and again towards some of life’s great mysteries, its most humbling challenges” (Roger Parker).  “It is where Britten officially takes his leave. A handful of works would follow, but this is the moment where he gives up his soul in music of affecting beauty. The last movement ensures he leaves with his head held high, innovating and captivating to the very end." (Brian Hogwood)
Mozart:  String Quintet in C major, K 515 
The notion of a string quintet with two violas was new in the 1770s, when Mozart wrote the first of these works (K 174); but ten years later he produced one of the longest of all his chamber compositions with this sublime C major quintet.

Tickets sold by Richard Booth’s Bookshop on behalf of Hay Music.
Please note: this concert takes place at Richard Booth's Bookshop.
Sold Out
You need to log in in order to add items to your wish list

Shopping basket

Subtotal: £0.00
checkout now →

We are delighted to be part of the National Theatre Live season. Please click HERE for details of forthcoming productions.

Royal Opera House